Editor-in-Chief of the New Crusading Guide newspaper, Abdul Malik Kweku Baako has questioned the constitutionality of the position of Regional Security Coordinator.

According to him, the composition of the Regional Security Council which forms the representation of all the security networks in the region, as stipulated in the constitution makes no provision for such position.

His position comes in the wake of the dreadful attack on the newly appointed Ashanti Regional Security Coordinator, George Agyei by Delta Force, a pro-NPP vigilante group, yesterday.

The Ashanti Region based vigilante group of the ruling NPP on Friday stormed the Ashanti Regional Coordinating Council and attacked the Regional Security Coordinator, George Agyei.

He was appointed by the President for the post but the members of the Delta Force claim they cannot work with Mr. Agyei because he is not from the region, hence he should be removed.  The group wants one of their own, who is a leader among them, to be appointed for that position under contention.

They broke into Mr. Adjei’s office manhandled him and asked him to leave the premises.

It took the timely intervention of the Police to rescue Mr. Adjei who was whisked to the Central Police station for protection.

Kwaku Baako on Joy FM’s News File Analysis Show, said the creation of that portfolio(Regional Security Coordinator) is alien to the security system and has no legal basis.

“Regional Security Coordinator, who appointed, where is the legal regime? See, the membership of the regional Security Council is as follows; The Regional Minister, who is the Head, the Deputy Regional Minister, the Chief Executive of the Metropolitan, Municipal or District Assembly in the regional capital, an officer of the Armed Forces nominated by the Chief of Defence Staff, the Regional Police Commander, the Regional Crime Officer, the Regional Officer of the internal Intelligence Agencies specified in part 3 of the Act, the Customs Excise and Preventive Service Officer in-charge of the region, the Prisons Service Officer in-charge of the region, and two other persons nominated by the Regional Minister.