The Acting National Chairman of the New Patriotic Party, Freddie Blay, Saturday, July 7, 2018, put up a spirited fight to win the National Chair position of the party ahead of this competitors, Stephen Ntim and Dr. Amoako Baah.

According to officials results released by Electoral Commission the former First Deputy Speaker of Parliament popularly known as Ellembele Mugabe won the position with 463 votes margin.

He polled 3,021 votes while his main challenger, Stephen Ntim garnered 2,558 votes.

The third candidate, Dr. Richard Amoako Baah managed to poll only 18 votes.

Blay who was the First National Vice-Chairman of the party became the Acting Chairman following the suspension of Paul Afoko.

He is credited with leading the party into an unprecedented victory in the 2016 general elections.