UEFA 2018-19 Player of the Year

UEFA have announced the three finalists for the 2018-19 Player of the Year award.

Last season, Croatian midfielder Luka Modric won the trophy after Real Madrid won the Champions League.

Cristiano Ronaldo has won this award on three previous occasions – more than anyone else.

Liverpool: Virgil van Dijk

The first nominee is Liverpool centre-half Virgil van Dijk.

Van Dijk was a lynchpin for Liverpool as they won last season’s Champions League.

Liverpool also finished second in the Premier League.

While, on the international scene, van Dijk reached the final of the inaugural Nations League with Holland this summer.

Barcelona: Leo Messi

Could Leo Messi win the coveted award?

Last season, Messi picked up another La Liga winners’ medal, his tenth.

Messi was also the top goalscorer in the UEFA Champions League.

The Argentine also lifted the European Golden Shoe award.

Juventus: Cristiano Ronaldo

The final nominee for the esteemed UEFA prize is Juventus striker Cristiano Ronaldo.

Ronaldo won the Serie A title last season in his first year in Italy.

On the international scene, Ronaldo lifted the UEFA Nations League with Portugal, while the striker was the top goalscorer at the finals.

Who else was in the running?

UEFA have also revealed seven other players who were considered for the 2018-19 Player of the Year award.

Those players were as follows:

Alisson Becker (Liverpool & Brazil)
Sadio Mané (Liverpool & Senegal)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool & Egypt)
Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Real Madrid & Belgium)
Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax/Juventus & Netherlands)
Frenkie de Jong (Ajax/Barcelona & Netherlands)
Raheem Sterling (Manchester City & England)