The Ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Ashanti region will today[Monday] commence vetting of 119 parliamentary aspirants who have filed their nomination forms to contest the upcoming parliamentary election in their respective constituencies.

Out of the 119 aspirants, 6 of them are contesting unopposed including the Majority Leader and Member of Parliament for Suame constituency Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, Deputy Education Minister Dr. Yaw Adutwum MP Bosomtwi constituency, Dr. Mathew Opoku Prempeh MP Manhyia South, Mavis Nkansah Boadu among two others.

The party has constituted 2 separate committees to vet the aspirants.

Group 1, is made up National General Secretary of the party John Boadu, Benard Antwi Boasiako (Wontumi) Ashanti regional chairman, Council of Elders member from the regional level and the elections committees chairman.

While, group B vetting panel will include Sam Pyne Ashanti regional secretary of the party, Counsel Garry Nimako and others.

On Monday 2rd March 2020 vetting committee group ‘A’ panel is expected to vet seven (7) aspirants from Akrofrom constituency, five (5) from Subin, Atwimah Kwawomah three (3), Subin two (2) and Asokwa constituency two (2).

Below is the full list of vetting group A & B time table.

The party has also set up a complaint committee to receive petition from any aspirant who feels unfairly disqualify by the committee for their concerns to be addressed.

The committee members include former Defence Minister Dr. Kwame Addo Kuffour, Peter Mac Manu and Cecilia Abena Dapaah.

Kwasi Kyei Ashanti Regional Communications Director of the party is, therefore, urging aspirants and their supports to conduct themselves properly in order, not to mar the beauty of the exercise.

Source: Justice Bediako