The Electoral Commission (EC) has declared 15 electoral areas in the Western Region as no contest because each of the electoral areas had only one candidate filing their papers at the close of nominations.

There are 544 electoral areas in the region, out of which 529 would hold elections.

Mr. Steve Opoku-Mensah, Western Regional Director of the Electoral Commission (EC), disclosed that some of the electoral areas where no elections would take place include Kwesimintsim, Awuna beach, Aboade/Fasin, Kamgbunu, Anobea, Nkamponase and Dawurampong.

He noted that all ballot papers had been distributed to the various districts and security arrangements had been made for them to maintain law and order at the various polling stations.

Until now, a total of 1,650 candidates had filed their nominations to contest the DLE in the Western Region, slated for September 1, this year.

Furthermore, a total of 4,293 filed for the Unit Level Elections, made up of 3,970 men and 323 women.

The District Assemblies Election comes off Tuesday 1st September.