Flagbearer aspirant of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Boakye Agyarko says he will not take part in the September 2, 2023, run-off to settle on who makes it to the final list of five aspirants to contest the party’s Presidential primary slated for 4th November.

He decision follows an announcement by the General Secretary of the Party, Justin Kodua Frimpong on Wednesday that only members of the National Council (NC) will vote in the special exercise.

The former Minister for Energy in a letter to the Chairman of the Presidential Elections Committee, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye, Mr. Agyarko stated that the decision to limit the voters to National Council is contrary to the party’s constitution.

“Therefore, it is totally unconstitutional that a sub-section (about 135 National Council members) of the Special Electoral College should assume the function on behalf of the 955 delegates who voted in the first round.

“I refuse to be a part of such an act that seeks to unjustly truncate a previously agreed upon process and cannot be part of what is about to be done on Saturday, 2nd September 2023. I cannot with a clear conscience make such an impermissible concession to such an errant decision,” Mr. Agyarko stated.

Source: Kasapafmonline.com/102.5FM