In order to cover gaps in several Ministries lacking permanent ministers, President Akufo-Addo has given some Ministers extra tasks.

On Wednesday, February 14, the president carried out his first significant cabinet shift, completely removing some ministers and moving others to different ministries.

Among the noteworthy appointments is the temporary appointment of Railway Minister John Peter Amewu to head the Sanitation and Water Resources Ministry until Lydia Seyram Alhassan goes through vetting and is approved by Parliament.

Similarly, until Nii Kwartei Titus Glover takes over as Greater Accra Regional Minister, Interior Minister Henry Quartey will oversee the Greater Accra Region.

Minister of Works and Housing Kojo Oppong Nkrumah will continue to lead the Information Ministry until Parliament has examined and approved the appointment of his former deputy, Fatimatu Abubakar.

Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, in addition to leading the Communications Ministry, has been tasked with leading the Health Ministry until Dr. Bernard Okoe Boye is formally sworn in as the minister.

In the meantime, Osei Bonsu Amoah will serve as the minister in charge of the Local Government and Rural Development Ministry until Martin Adjei Mensah Korsah, the actual minister is approved. Archibald Letsa, the Volta Regional Minister, has been assigned temporary management of the Oti area.

The Ministry of Gender, Children, and Social Protection will be headed by Fisheries Minister Hawa Koomson until Darkoa Newman takes over. The Ministry of Environment, Science, Technology, and Innovation will be temporarily led by Minister of Lands and Natural Resources Samuel Abu Jinapor until Ophelia Quansah Hayford assumes the position.