The Ga East Municipal and La Nkwantanang Madina Municipal Assembly has scheduled to reconstitute the WATSAN Committee in the various communities.

According to them, the move is toward the formation of the Water and Sanitation Management Teams (WSMT) for Abokobi, Oyarifa, Teiman (AOT) Water and Sanitation Scheme.

“The key responsibilities of the WATSAN Committee members are to supervise and ensure good hygiene and sanitation conditions around communities stand pipes and any other water related services in the communities.

“Each WATSAN Communities should consist of five members, with at least two being women. It is important to also note that an elected member of a WATSAN Committee must be: Permanent resident in the community and a paid up user of the Water and Sanitation Scheme,” a letter jointly signed by the two Municipal Assemblies indicated.

Meanwhile, the Chief of Oyarifa, Nii Sowah Gbɔbilɔ Djata II has lauded the move and in support for the betterment of the area.

Attached is the full letter

Source: Ghana/