The Seventh Parliament of the Fourth Republic was duly constituted dawn of Saturday, January 7th after members elected were  sworn in as new crop of legislators for the next parliament.

The new Speaker, Prof. Mike Ocquaye led the House to swear by the Bible or Quran  after which the MPs shared pleasantries to congratulate each as colleagues for the seventh Parliament.

Ahead of the swearing in of new members for the current parliament, the new majority leader, Mr. Kyei Mensah Bonsu nominated Prof. Mike Ocquaye for the position of Speaker, after moving the motion for Mr. Ocquaye to take the chair as Speaker of Parliament. He was later sworn in as new Speaker of Parliament.

The event drew Ghanaians from all walks of life including former President J.J Rawlings, other senior citizens and persons of the Diplomatic Corps.